Burhan Öçal - Yeni Rüya (New Dream)

"Turkish music specialist Burhan Öçal has made the bridging of musical cultures his central mission. A native of Kirklareli, near Istanbul, he grew up in a musical family. From his father, he learned a variety of percussion instruments, while his mother introduced him to religious vocal music. After his first contact with Western music, he became interested in combining other genres and cultural traditions, such as jazz and Western classical music, with his own. Burhan Öçal’s instruments are as diverse as his music. In addition to a wide variety of percussion, such as the Darbuka (a vase-shaped drum played with the fingers), Kös (kettle drum), Kudüm and Bendi, he is a highly skilled player on a number of stringed instruments, including the Divan-Saz, Tanbur and Oud. His expressive voice adds to the spectrum of musical elements at his command."

Label: Doublemoon
Country: Turkey
Released: 2005
Genre: Electronic, Folk, World, & Country

1 Bogaziçi (Bosporus) 7:18
2 Yeni Sark Rüyasi (The New Oriental Dream) 5:53
3 Çile Bülbülüm (My Long Suffering Nightingale) 3:10
4 Seyh'in Rüyasi (The Sheikh's Dream) 5:54
5 Ben Aglarken (While I Cry) 4:01
6 Beklenen Resim (The Awaited Picture) 5:46
7 Ben Seni Unutmak Için Sevmedim (I Didn't Love You Just To Forget You) 3:55
8 Büyülü Dans (The Enchanted Dance) 7:56

No comments:

Post a Comment